PDA

View Full Version : almost virgin bush....?

Maplebee
05-14-2006, 09:32 AM
Hey all,
I'm new at this sugaring thing, I was getting ready to start cutting some
fire wood and clear my bush at the same time....I figure I can just start
from were I want to put the evap.
so my first question is , I'm 42 years old and still want to leave a good bush behind me when I die..so what size trees should I be taking out
and what should I be leavin......? how long before a six inch tree is tappable......I have a few birch and stuff too.....do those go also....?
or should I leave some up...? this bush was tapped for like two years,
about 15 yrs ago and lightly logged some time before that and is pretty over grown we did about 30 taps this year and got about 8 gal.
I'm hooked..... :D
Thanks ahead of time for sharing!

Fred Henderson
05-14-2006, 10:01 AM
Get a professional forester to help you with it is the best thing to do. He can plan it for the long range.

forester1
05-14-2006, 02:25 PM
Fred is right. You can get a forester to come out for free from either the dnr or conservation district depending on the state. Be sure to tell him or her you want to produce maple syrup. You should be able to get a 6 inch diameter tree to 10 inches in 5-10 years depending on your soil and room for growth. You would probably want to remove most of the other trees besides sugar maple over time as you thin. You don't want to remove too much at one time, but want to identify your crop trees and remove at least the two main crown competitors. If all your trees are 6", you can remove all trees within 10 feet of the crowns of your crop trees. 10" and larger trees, just two sides at one time. Discriminate against diseased, poor form(like low sharp forks), and other species. You can also test for sugar with a refractometer in the spring and keep the best sugar % trees if they are otherwise equal.

maple flats
05-14-2006, 05:47 PM