PDA

View Full Version : Mainline Wire

Big Buck Acres
02-14-2013, 11:26 AM
This is my first attempt at running main line, from what I have been reading 12.5 galvanized is the recommended size for suspending line.
I am using .5" pipe with approx 50 taps extending approx 250 ft, is there any reason why I cannot use small gauge aircraft cable in place of the 12.5 galvanized wire?
I do plan on getting cable tight with ratchet or some sort of come along device.
Just wondering why it has to be wire instead of cable.
I should mention I have approx 4% slope

Thanks in advance for any input

Tom

briansickler
02-14-2013, 11:42 AM
Sure, why not....as long as it's good and tight....you don't want it to have much or any sag to it. If it does sag use a post or stakes where needed.

unc23win
02-14-2013, 12:26 PM
That should work good. Most people use 12.5 wire because the splices, ratchets, and such are readily available and there are tools for working with it as well.

spencer11
02-14-2013, 04:12 PM
Save some money and go wireless, it's pretty easy and can be done with any mainline on gravity. The best is leaders mainline for vac or gravity but you could use black pipe for gravity so save some $

wildlifewarrior
02-14-2013, 04:33 PM
Hi Spencer, can you explain?
Mike

Scribner's Mountain Maple
02-14-2013, 04:33 PM
You can use anything that works. I've used old fencing. My dad used old cable wire. The thing is that most wires can't handle the tension. But if you are using .5 " over a couloe hundred feet you could use most anything that can handle a little tension.

spencer11
02-14-2013, 05:14 PM
Hi Spencer, can you explain?
Mike