PDA

View Full Version : Pulling 5/16" Tubing

SeanD
02-03-2013, 06:21 PM
Some of the tubing tapers before going into the fitting. Am I pulling it too tight? One 6" section I pulled around a tree stretched and tapered right in my hand. Is that typical or do I have a bad batch of tubing?

Sean

Daves Maple Farm
02-03-2013, 06:33 PM
I am new to this too and we just pulled 5 rolls of tubing and no problems...my humble opinion is you may be pulling to tight. Maybe someone with a little more experience will chime in...good luck ps: we didnt pull any around a tree just zig zagged through the trees to keep it tight.

unc23win
02-03-2013, 09:08 PM
What kind of tubing are you using? I don't think I have ever had tubing change form.

spencer11
02-04-2013, 05:42 AM
are you using semi-rigid? thats what it sounds like you have cause of the amount its stretching. but ive never heard of it doing that before

stoweski
02-04-2013, 05:46 AM
Sounds like the semi-rigid stuff. Never had rigid do that to me.

maple flats
02-04-2013, 10:10 AM
If you are using new tubing, it likely is too soft. Do you have rigid? That being said, as tubing is tightened and re-tightened year after year, the ID does get smaller, but I don't think you could tell without a good measuring instrument, calipers or such. How tight are you pulling it? If you pull as hard as you can, it may be too tight, but I suspect a flaw in the tubing.

unc23win
02-04-2013, 10:36 AM
I agree with flats I doubt you would be able to see the difference unless something was wrong with it. Also most new tubing is pre stretched.

SeanD
02-04-2013, 05:48 PM
Yes, it's the Max Flow Semi-rigid tubing. I've used it for everything - main, laterals and drops. I remember having a hard time picking which to get just by reading the descriptions in the catalog. Sounds like I made a rookie mistake.