PDA

View Full Version : Not homemade, but its the best I've got

Trout Brook Maple
02-02-2013, 02:58 PM
Trying this set up this year with 25 or so taps. High pressure propane 3 burners with steam pans. Nothing homemade, but I have some plans in mind thanks to you guys.....

maple flats
02-02-2013, 03:11 PM
It will use lots of propane $ unless you can connect to a bulk tank. Try to find a way to hook to a bulk tank if you have one at your house. That will cut propane costs to almost bearable. In any case, it will make syrup. For the best syrup, always add to one pan and laddel to pan 2 then pan 3. that will give you lighter syrup, rather than adding raw sap to each as you boil water away. Either way, welcome aboard, and this is addictive. Before you know it, you'll have hundreds and then thousands of taps.

Trout Brook Maple
02-03-2013, 01:37 PM
Dave - Thanks for the advice - I got a big ladle this year to do that. I've been doing 12 buckets for a few years, and boiling over turkey fryer burner - the usual routine for a rookie - but SO inefficient. While inefficient, I hope to evaporate a little quicker, and lighter, with this set up. I've seen a homemade propane evaporator on here with firebrick and all that I think would help alot.

I do get a Christmas card from the welding supply where I get my 20 lb propane tanks filled.

I have a neighbor that is a commercial producer, and he's been a great resource for me. Two years ago, I thought he was putting sap IN my buckets while I was at work, just to keep me busy!

maple flats
02-03-2013, 05:04 PM
I used to use turkey friers for reheating syrup to 190 before filtering and a propane canner. I used 20# tanks and when I switched to a bulk tank my propane cost dropped to about 1/3 of what it was before on a per gal of syrup basis.

325abn
02-03-2013, 05:13 PM
Why and/or how does having a larger propane tank reduce the amount of propane used? Or does it just reduce the cost of the propane?

wiam
02-03-2013, 06:44 PM