PDA

View Full Version : Premade droplines

Ekrueger
01-30-2013, 10:06 AM
I am new at this and wondered if you guys can show me some pictures of premade droplines for multiple taps per tree? Do you just use the single droplines and splice them together at the tree?

DrTimPerkins
01-30-2013, 11:01 AM
See attached. This is an end tree.

Single dropline per tee. Never Y them together.

Limitpusher
01-30-2013, 11:35 AM
Ok now I have a question about this. How long do you make pre-made drops? I mean the length of tube from tap to tee. I'm curious about this and don't want to mess a bunch of tubing up by cutting it short.

Ekrueger
01-30-2013, 12:00 PM
I am actually trying to understand how the drop lines look for 2 and 3 taps per tree. Do the droplines get connected together(1 "T" in lateral line and other "T"'s get spliced into the first dropline), or do they all individually get spliced into the lateral line?

maple flats
01-30-2013, 12:15 PM
Each drop connects directly to the lateral line. For a tree on gravity to have 3 taps it should be at least 36" diameter. On Vac even that should only get 2 taps. For length, that depends, many use 28,30,32 and even 36". I used to use 28" but now use 32" drops (from tap to lateral).

lpakiz
01-30-2013, 12:49 PM
It depends somewhat on the diameter of your tree. You need to be able to eventually reach all points around your tree. Take a tape measure with you and try one of the larger trees. You might make up 2sizes, for small and large. Error on the side of too long.

Sunday Rock Maple
01-30-2013, 06:05 PM
We make them 36", I've had experience in the past with too short lines on larger trees and it limits your ability to find good wood and can't be healthy for the tree.

ennismaple
01-31-2013, 12:20 PM
We make them 36", I've had experience in the past with too short lines on larger trees and it limits your ability to find good wood and can't be healthy for the tree.