PDA

View Full Version : Product liability insurance vendor needed

narf
01-28-2013, 09:39 PM
Moving from a backyarder to a small commercial operation, perhaps selling 20 gallons. I'm told product liability insurance is needed for craft fairs and I welcome advice on insurance costs/companies.

shane hickey
01-28-2013, 09:42 PM
Your homeowners insurance should cover
You with no problem its when you sell alot
Thats when it gets complicated.

Jmsmithy
01-28-2013, 11:44 PM
Hi folks

I'm not sure what the Trader rules are but I am an insurance agent/broker licensed in NY/NJ and all the NorthEastern states. Only in very specific instances will your homeowners cover business exposures and that is ONLY by specifically adding the coverage to your policy. It is NEVER just "part of the policy". In addition, I've never seen any type of products liability coverage on a homeowners policy. There may be exceptions in the cases of certain policies but doubtful, I'd certainly need more specifics. I'd be glad to answer any questions etc if you PM or email me. It's a very specific line of coverage, food products. You also need to contend with General Liability for those folks who give tours etc of their sugar houses. As for fairs, farmers markets etc, GENERALLY, the folks running those events require a certificate of insurance which is printed as an industry standard document. It serves as legal evidence of insurance and is specific only to the types of coverage you actually have (eg, liability, products liability, commercial auto etc etc).... Let me know any questions...

tuckermtn
01-29-2013, 02:03 AM
I use Peerless for property coverage (sugarhouse and contents) and for product liability. I did have a rider on my homeowners (Cooperative Insurance out of Middlebury VT. but I exceeded their allowable production for sales a few years back and now have Peerless. Cost around $500- 550 per year. Happy so far, but of course I have not had a claim;)

Thompson's Tree Farm