PDA

View Full Version : 3/4 or 1/2 in preheater

Maritimer
01-08-2013, 06:24 AM
Hi everyone. I've been playing with the sap/syrup thing since i was 15 or so,going from mom's canning pot in the kitchen to a 40gal stainless pot boil outside for a few years. when I was 37 I bought a 18 x 48 used evaporator with a stainless hood. Worked great for the first year, I made enough to pay for it. the following fall we got hit by a hurricane and it blew most of my tree's down. So....I've been thinning and culling my new area for the last 6 years. Finally last year and 44 yrs old I made some syrup again, now I have too much sap for my little evaporator.
I want to make a preheater, Ive found one on here that I like. It is made from 3/4 copper. the headers are 3/4 also. So, here is the question. would it be better to make my header out of say 1" and the rest of it from 3/4? I'm just wondering with the design of this the inline comes in and flows down to the header, then it travels up the 3/4 (5 pipes) to the top header and from there exits to my float box. But wouldn't the 3/4 pipe closest to the exit on the header get the most action? then i wouldn't get the full benefit of the hot sap. the other pipes would be hot but may not get to the exit pipe before the one that is closest.
Sorry for the confusion. I hope that I have explained this ok.

Gary R
01-08-2013, 11:37 AM
I would stick with all 3/4" pipe. Make it as long as possible and use as many runs in length as possible. The inlet header needs to be mounted a few inches lower than the outlet. This should prevent your sap from "short circuiting" and going the shortest route. You can also take the outlet off the far side of the upper manifold and route it to your float box. You will also want to capture the condensate so you don't boil it again. I believe a hood and preheater combo only increases efficiency by 5-10%. Hopefully you don't have too much sap:)

ACollette
01-14-2013, 03:28 PM
Maritimer,