PDA

View Full Version : ok new to tubing. I have some gravity questions

ericjeeper
12-09-2012, 06:07 PM
Ok I have been running sap sacks for several years. I am trying to enlarge our operation a bit. Due to the high up front cost of sack holders and spiles. I am going to run a few trees on 5/16 to a few scattered 55 gallon barrels for collection.
Ok on my first tree, do I just wrap the tubing around the tree and stick a tap on it? or is there some sort of special way to anchor the tubing at the first tree?
How many trees can I tie into one 5/16 line? Thanks

spencer11
12-09-2012, 06:37 PM
you want to use an end ring, end hook, or slide fitting to anchor your lateral to the tree and then your drop line runs up from that, what i have heard is from 30-50 taps on 1 5/16" line on gravity

morningstarfarm
12-09-2012, 08:39 PM
as stated before use an end connector of some type...as to how many...i am sure there are many different opinions on this...if you have a fairly good slope to run down I have run as many as 150 taps on a single 5/16 mainline...with that many the sap will actually create its own vacuum in the lines..I have measured mine at around 3in HG...

SevenCreeksSap
12-10-2012, 05:26 PM
I've got a few short lines like your describing, one thing I learned was drill the hole in your barrel smaller than the OD of your line. sounds pretty obvious but I havent found a really good way to keep that end of the line in the barrel without smashing or crimping it, which inhibits flow. on a long line if its full it might pull out when you least expect it and lose sap.