PDA

View Full Version : 12 volt vacuum pumps

madmapler
10-19-2012, 09:09 AM
Hello everyone, This is my first post and surely not my last one as I'm just starting out at this. Its just great how everyone helps each other out on this site and how respectful the pros are to those of us with little experience. You dont find that everywhere these days. I sense most of you are just "good folks" and I hope I can contribute in some way. Question#1 I'm looking at 12v Thomas pumps on ebay that are capable of pulling pull 22" with 1.4 cfm. Seeing as how its relatively weak,Can I use it to to pull sap into a plastic drum "50 gal.or so" without collapse and should it be sufficient for 100 or so taps? My sugarbush and evaporator are 1/2 mile from any electricity. Any other suggestions would be welcome as well. Thanks.

wiam
10-19-2012, 02:38 PM
I think a plastic barrel would collapse way before 22".

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
10-19-2012, 06:42 PM
my experience with plastic drums is it will collapse about 10 " of vac

madmapler
10-19-2012, 07:11 PM
If I was to use something sturdier for a container what then? Is it worth a try? I have plenty of batteries around and a heavy duty charger. If any one has any experience with these 12v pumps I would appreciate their input. If nobody can tell me its not worth trying then I may just experiment with it. Thanks to you both:)

maple flats
10-20-2012, 06:58 AM
You are looking for some sort of vacuum tank. Vacuum is a powerful force. Anything not designed for vac will implode easily. Try looking for a releaser, some have even made their own. If you can't find that look into a small sap sucker pump. They pull vac but then pump the sap (pressure) to a barrel/holding tank.

madmapler
10-20-2012, 12:47 PM