PDA

View Full Version : Pan cleaning

whiteout
04-03-2006, 04:18 PM
I have a halfpint soldered flat pan. I have cleaned most of it with a scotch-brite pad. There is still crud built up on the solder and hard to reach places. Will vinegar harm the solder. do you use it full strength or dilute it? Any advice would be much appreciated.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
04-03-2006, 05:03 PM
Vinegar shouldn't hurt the solder. Put a gallon in it and fill pan nearly full with water and bring to a boil or simmer for about 1/2 hour and should nearly clean itself! :D

Splashdam
04-03-2006, 09:24 PM
An ol' timer told me to fill the evaporator with sap at the end of the season. I did that. (This is my first year). Let the thing sit until Memorial day. Then drain it and wash it. He claims that the sap will in time ferment, turning basically to vinegar and bring the stainless steel to a high, clean glossy shine. Seems to make sense to me. Stay tuned.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
04-03-2006, 09:38 PM
Be careful, the sap can eat holes in the solder. :?

ibby458
04-04-2006, 05:57 AM
I found vinegar to work just as good as commercial pan cleaner. I've always been advised not to scub the solder until it's shiny, so we just used a stiff bristle brush on the joints.

ennismaple
04-04-2006, 12:24 PM
We tried leaving sap in the pans last year and it worked great! My father checked on them about mid-June and the smell almost turned his stomach. After draining them and rinsing the pans looked like the day they arrived in the sugar camp.

To clean the pans during the season we'll fill them with drinking water, bring to a boil and add baking soda (about 6 cups for our 2'x4' finishing pan). Once they've stopped bubbling you let the fire die out (overnight is fine) and give them a quick scrub the next morning. It works great and there's no residue or taste from the baking soda.

Mike
04-04-2006, 02:30 PM
Will any vinegar work...........

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
04-04-2006, 03:34 PM
Mike,