PDA

View Full Version : Approximate cost for a 100 tap Vacuum system

Valleylakefarm
06-22-2012, 06:13 PM
If someone had a minute, I would appreciate knowing the cost of a 100 tap vacuum pump. Will it collect from the pump or is a separator needed?

Thanks I am new at this game.

OGDENS SUGAR BUSH
06-22-2012, 08:10 PM
you need to do a search on vac and do a little bit of research on your own. there are many hours of reading on this site . then come back with a question

Thad Blaisdell
06-22-2012, 09:04 PM
The best thing you could do is go see Glenn Goodrich at Goodrich's Maple in Cabot. They could explain all options easily.

Valleylakefarm
06-22-2012, 09:57 PM
No thank you

Valleylakefarm
06-22-2012, 10:02 PM
Thad, thanks I will go talk with Glenn. I felt like I talked his ear off and he gave me a very fair deal on a evaporator. I guess
I was fishing for a ballpark cost because I like to go talk with money in hand.

Thanks again

Bucket Head
06-22-2012, 10:10 PM
Do what many sugarmakers have done, including myself- go find an old dairy vacuum pump. Ask around, stop in and ask at the non-operating dairy farms in your area, go to some farm auctions, place a wanted add, etc. There are lots of them around that can be had reasonably, or offer to trade some syrup for one. The barter system still works! An old dairy pump will be a little easier on the wallet than a new one from a maple supply. The money saved can be spent on the tubing system, which is the critical part when it comes to vacuum.

Steve

Valleylakefarm
06-22-2012, 10:21 PM
Wow, thanks Steve that is an idea that I will look in to. I never would have thought of that, and I have milked goats.

wiam
06-23-2012, 07:13 AM