PDA

View Full Version : USDA NASS 2012 Crop Report

DrTimPerkins
06-13-2012, 07:22 PM
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/MannUsda/viewDocumentInfo.do?documentID=1046

The 2012 Maple Report starts on page 12 (of the PDF version).

Dave Y
06-13-2012, 09:19 PM
I would really like to know where they get there numbers. Some of the numbers for Pa. are bizarre to say the least. I have been producing for nine years and am a registered producer and have been. I have never been contacted for my numbers. from the looks of some of them I think they make them up!

maple flats
06-14-2012, 07:31 PM
I'm not sure how they got my name, but I've been sent a survey every year since 2004, my second year making maple.
This information helps each state get certain funds to help the industry. Every producer should make sure they are included in the stats AND be honest, don't shave the numbers down or pad them either. Accuracy is the best aid in making these statistics of any value, not for bragging rights but for justifying grants, promotion, etc.
I would suggest anyone not getting a survey form contact the NASS (National Agricultural Statistics Service).
Anyone concerned about tax repercussions or other complications need not worry, by law the info you submit can not ever be used by any department of any government. I comment on this even though I know every one is totally accurate in reporting all income but some are concerned any ways.

gmcooper
06-14-2012, 11:01 PM
Well stated Maple Flats!

maple flats
06-17-2012, 07:25 AM
I highly encourage all producers to participate in the Ag Statistics maple survey every year. To get included email nass@nass.gov Give them your name, address and contact info. You will then get the survey next year in the mail during maple season. Complete the form and return it before April 30 or they will call for your report on the phone. The easiest way to do the report is to go online and file it there. To do that you will need the ID # from your address label.