PDA

View Full Version : Record season

PerryFamily
03-28-2012, 09:15 AM
Long time reader, first time writer. Being that this is my first year solo , I am one of only a handfull that can say I had a record year!! After purchasing a complete setup from a sugarmaker in Mass that was calling it quits and building a complete sugarhouse from the ground up I can say that I made 35 gallons! I had 208 taps of my own and purchased sap as well.

All in all I had a great season. I even missed the first two weeks in Feb due to a previously scheduled vacation. Just wanted to give a big THANK YOU to the people on this site. I did a ton of research here before I did anything. From building, insulating the arch, splitting wood..... I got a ton of great tips and info. Also got a great deal of info from local friends and producers. I got some from a sugarmaker who learned from my wifes grandfather. That connection is pretty special.

I hope to post pictures as soon as I figure out how!! Although I am sure most peoples season is over, i hope everyone could at least get to the breakeven point.

Thanks for all the info and tricks and maybe someday I will have some of my own

Happy canning and tubing washing

JMP

adk1
03-28-2012, 11:25 AM
yes, me 2 Perry..Been saying "made more syrup this year than last year"..!

PerryW
03-28-2012, 01:56 PM
I also had a record year. My worst year on record in 24 years.

PerryFamily
03-28-2012, 04:13 PM
PerryW- Sorry to hear that. I am sure you are not alone. I was thinking today that no matter how much syrup you make it is still the same amount of work. Still gotta tap, cut / split wood, and clean up...... I guess we'll hope for a better year next year.

sjdoyon
03-28-2012, 04:37 PM
we're still at it since sugar maples show no sign of budding and last run on Sunday was nice and clear. If only we could get some warmer temps. Looks like it might happen Thurs/Fri, latest Saturday.

PerryFamily
03-28-2012, 06:41 PM