PDA

View Full Version : Some Vacuum Questions...

DonMcJr
03-23-2012, 03:21 AM
First is there any articles online anywhere on how to set up a vacuum system?

I'm a pipefitter by trade and my dad is Refridgeration and Heating/cooling so between us I'm thinking we could figure something out. But I haven't found much info about it.

I'm only poking at about 20 taps I can put on Vacuum so I don't want to spend a lot but after taking a walk through my woods in a few weeks if that's all the maples I have then I may spend the money to get more SAP...

Anyhow where is something I can read in detail on what a vacuum system consists of?

ennismaple
03-23-2012, 11:15 AM
The most basic vacuum system I've heard of on this forum is some form of a blower (I think the guy used a shop vac) connected to a 55 gallon steel drum. The blower put the drum under low vacuum and the mainlines or laterals connected to the drum.

Some guys use sap suckers for vacuum but I don't have any experience with them. A search of this site should help.

Some guys use Bender milk releasers. This would likely be the best for a setup like yours. Again - search here and you'll find something.

The next step up is some form of Zero milk tank. You can get a Surge or DeLaval vacuum pump (about 20" Hg max), connect it to the Zero tank and it puts vacuum on the entire tank. The mainlines connect to the tank and the sap gets sucked back through the lines.

After that you're looking at flood oil or liquid ring or dry ring pumps that pull 25" Hg or more, releasers (mechanical or electrical) and open top tanks.

Take a field trip to someone's sugar bush near you. It's really logical and not that complicated once you see it all in action!

DonMcJr
03-23-2012, 04:14 PM
Ok thanks that's a start... Anyone know of a Sugarbush in the SE Michigan Area that runs Vacuum?

highlandcattle
03-23-2012, 05:12 PM