PDA

View Full Version : Bottling directly off the filter press.

Mike Czok
03-12-2012, 07:03 AM
this is my first year using a filter press. Can I bottle directly from the press? I'm wondering if it will be warm enough. I'm saving syrup till I have 10-12 gallons before putting it through I know I have to reheat it before it goes through the press but I'd rather not reheat it again to can it. Looking for suggestions! Thanks

StayinLowTech
03-12-2012, 08:21 AM
The question is; will the syrup be between 180 to 190 when it goes in the container in order to kill microorganisms and prevent future mold formation. Measure temp coming out the press.

NYScott
03-12-2012, 08:30 AM
I do , and I also batch process it in about 10 gallon batches. I also heat the syrup to over 200 before running it through the press. Check the temp on the other side and se what you have. You need atleast 185. Make sure you have the hands I run the press and one to two people are bottling.

Good Luck
Scott

markct
03-13-2012, 05:22 AM
I think you will find you spill alot and its a hassle, its definatly hot enough, i often fill the bottler from the filter press then bottle with no reheating. sometimes i will refill the jugs we reuse at home or someones jug they brought by right from the filter press between barrels but i wouldnt want to try and fill all the jugs that way the bottler is much easier

ennismaple
03-13-2012, 01:45 PM
We normally run 10-15 gallons through the press at once, which is about an hour's worth. By the time it's filtered and into the re-heating unit the syrup is at 160 F. We need to let it heat up to 180 F before we package it.

user587
08-16-2012, 01:41 PM