PDA

View Full Version : Is there going to be a season??

tonka
03-07-2012, 09:50 PM
I have been sapping for only a few years. So I was seeing what all your thoughts are for this season, the 7 day forcast only has 1 of the 7 day where its freezing/thawing, is there going to be a season at all this year?

GramaCindy
03-08-2012, 04:32 AM
I'm scared too tonka. I am tapping the remainder of my trees on Saturday, and the long range forecast from 5 different weather sites doesn't look good for nighttime lows at all. I have 12 buckets out there now, and nothing in them but ugly rain water.

Daren
03-08-2012, 04:34 AM
I don't believe much in man made global warming but monitoring the 10 day forecast sure looks like what we make in the next 5 days is going to be it. After Saturday, no cold nights and most of the days from Sunday thru next sat are in the 50's. With as many reds as I have, this may be it and I have not drawn yet! Big boil day tomorrow so going to make what I can.

SDdave
03-08-2012, 07:17 AM
... is there going to be a season at all this year?

Yes. Just not as long as some may hope for. I had my last freezing night last night according to the local 7 day. Highs in the 60's. I can't find my journals from the last few years, BUT last year we (being me) had a week of weather like this and then wammo a cold front came through and "restarted" the trees. Never underestimate MN weather...unless you are in South Dakota!!

SDdave

SilverLeaf
03-08-2012, 09:45 AM
I can't find my journals from the last few years, BUT last year we (being me) had a week of weather like this and then wammo a cold front came through and "restarted" the trees.

My 2009 log shows the same thing.