PDA

View Full Version : Tour my Taps (Video)

DonMcJr
03-07-2012, 08:18 PM
Added 6 more taps today to make 11 incase the season ends quick I can get some last minute sap!

Here's a Video Tour of my Taps...

http://youtu.be/nZUI8otryWg

SPILEDRIVER
03-07-2012, 09:48 PM
never seen taps like that befor,where did you come up with that set up?

DonMcJr
03-08-2012, 12:17 AM
I saw something similar on youtube and used my skills to make it way you seen my video... ( I'm a Plumber/pipefitter).

I think I need to drop down one drill size to get a better seal!

Wanted a way to keep the bugs and moths out...this might work!

Rugburn
03-08-2012, 08:33 AM
Thanks for the ride! Syrup and venison, can't go wrong. I'll have to get my daughter to help me make a video tour of my setup here in NY.

happy thoughts
03-08-2012, 09:14 AM
Nice video Don. Thanks for the tour.

Those bulb type growths aren't old tap holes. They're called galls and what gives burly wood it's appearance. They can get very large. They're usually caused by some sort of injury, sometimes insects.

You could use taps made for tubing and probably avoid the leaks a little better.

Good luck. How's the evaporator set up going?

happy thoughts
03-08-2012, 09:17 AM
Here's some more on tree galls

http://hardwoodbucking.mtu.edu/hardwood_defects/galls.html

DonMcJr
03-08-2012, 09:39 AM
I'll have to check out the taps made for tubing...

I don't get the evaporator til next Thursday:(

Do you think if I put my sap in a 55 gallon plastic Food Container and put two gallons of Ice in Jugs in it and a lid and keep the ice froze with new ones it will be ok for 12 days? or should I do another LONG LONG Boil on the Turkey Fryer this weekend?

mapleack
03-08-2012, 09:48 AM
You'll have to get it boiled, it won't keep that long.

DonMcJr
03-08-2012, 09:55 AM
You'll have to get it boiled, it won't keep that long.

Ok Thanks! That's what I DIDN'T wanna hear...LOL!