PDA

View Full Version : Dry holes

foxtail
03-07-2012, 02:14 PM
This is my first year doing this by myself. The last time I did this at all was 1989 I think.

I never saw a hole that was dry when we drilled the trees then. Now 99% of the holes are dry. Will they run or should I pass them up in favor of holes that run right away?

I tapped around 150 trees yesterday and today and even the ones that were dripping yesterday at sundown are dry now.

Any advice?

happy thoughts
03-07-2012, 02:37 PM
Don't know where you're located but if you didn't have much of a freeze last night then they probably won't run well today. When/if conditions are right they'll run again. Not sure what you mean by "pass them up in favor of holes that run right away", but if you're thinking of pulling taps to relocate somewhere else, don't. Give the ones you put in a chance.

Good luck and hope the sap runs well for you.

foxtail
03-07-2012, 02:40 PM
I am in Faribault MN, which is 45 min north of IA and 30 min south of the cities.

Thanks for responding. I did not know what to think about 50 or so empty bags this morning. To be honest, I was a little bit ticked off.

GramaCindy
03-07-2012, 02:51 PM
foxtail, not sure if you remember this or not, but you need below freezing temps at night to get the sap to flow in the daytime, and then usually only if it's up above freezing. Funny thing, sap is. Sometimes when you "KNOW" you're going to have a huge run, you check only to be very disappointed. Leave the taps in the trees, it takes longer for some of them to wake up in the spring, depending on many factors, including what exposure they are and snow cover, wind, clouds, pressure, You name it.

sk8heaven
03-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Foxtail,