PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Syrup Question...

DonMcJr
03-04-2012, 05:59 AM
Ok I've done 2 Batches now and I have a question. The last batch I had boiling on the stove with a digital candy thermometer. I watched as the temp climbed to 213...214...then at 218 it stayed there quite awhile. It started boiling foamy and the foam started to rise then it hit 219 and I removed it and tested it with the hydrometer and it tested right on.

Yet it seems thin a bit after it cools. So the questions...

1. Can you boil it longer at 219 if you lower the heat and not risk buring it to make it thicker?

2. If you can boil it longer without burning does that make the Syrup darker or is the shade from the sap and sugar content of it?

Thanks in advance being a Newbie I may have some basic questions and I have read alot about making Maple Syrup and don't see too much on the finishing process...

happy thoughts
03-04-2012, 06:11 AM
You can boil it thicker but you'll likely end up with crystallized sugar in the bottom of the container, especially on long storage or if kept cold. It can look like rock crystal candy. It tastes good but is a little hard to get out of those narrow neck syrup bottles:o

Syrup density standards are chosen for a reason. Under dense and you risk spoilage, over dense and you get sugar crystals.

Cake O' Maple
03-04-2012, 11:01 AM
Ditto what Happy Thoughts said.

You're used to the viscosity of fake syrups--I was, too.

My first year I boiled down about a cup to the thickness I wanted, then was "treasuring" it. By the time I decided to use it, it was half full of rock sugar. Fortunately for me, it was in a wide-mouth halfpint jar. Hard to eat those huge crystals (it was waaaay over), but they tasted good.

But be careful getting them out. My dad got a little impatient one year and broke the jar trying to loosen it with a knife. Go slowly if stuck tight.

John c
03-04-2012, 12:19 PM