PDA

View Full Version : Storing pre-boiled (reduced) sap.

MJFlores
03-03-2012, 08:01 AM
Does anyone boil and reduce sap and then store that until they have enough for a good boil and draw off? If I were to boil down some say a few gallons to maybe half a gallon, would it store longer in the fridge..say an extra week until I'm able to gather enough sap for a boil? I'm obviously small time, just 15 taps on red maples so I don't get much per week. Right now I only have 2 gallons of sap gathered over the week so I'd like to keep it and do a boil next week and figured boiling may extend the storage. If I try to boil it all the way to syrup I'll only get maybe 2 ounces of syrup...hardly worth it. I hate to dump it so just looking for advice.

katmike
03-03-2012, 08:09 AM
I do to an extent because I'm a hobbyist. I think also once you bring it to a boil or at least 180 degrees you 'reset' the spoilage clock since you've killed the bacteria that causes it to spoil in the first place. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong. Of couse, raising the sugar content should help. But if you're going for a high grade that's not the way to go.

TwinBay
03-03-2012, 08:58 AM
Freeze the smaller volumes of sap.
2 gallons fits into a chest freezer no problem.
For storing larger volumes, I freeze the first 10-15 gallons of sap right in the buckets, right into the freezer.
Then you have giant sap cubes to place within storage tanks. I get 5 days no problem with raw sap.
Some posters talk adding blocks of ice, but Id be nervous introducing water from any source...

happy thoughts
03-03-2012, 08:59 AM