PDA

View Full Version : holding sap

cavescott
02-29-2012, 08:36 AM
hi dont want to be a pain but it is my first year. think of me as a two year old got a million questions.
before coming on this site i always thought you had to boil the sap you got each day or it would sour. but i have been noticing that people are saying collecting today and boiling on friday or whatever.[U] What is the exeptable amount of time to hold sap before boiling?
thank you for your help!

spencer11
02-29-2012, 08:56 AM
a week max.just keep it cold , or frozen and it will last a while.

spencer

cavescott
03-01-2012, 09:23 PM
thank spencer. you answered this over 24 hours ago and no body has argued with you. On this site that would mean that everyone agrees with you. thanks again you saved me alot of very short boils.
scott

wnybassman
03-01-2012, 09:26 PM
I've read you treat it as if it were milk. How long would you trust milk in 35º weather, 45º weather, etc.

RC Maple
03-01-2012, 10:30 PM
It's my first year too. Treating it like milk is what I learned. I use 32 gal trash cans kept on the North side of my shack. I fill milk jugs 3/4 full of water and freeze them then put the lids on and put 1 or 2 in the trash cans like big ice cubes. When they melt your not adding extra water to your sap and just swap them out with different jugs when they've melted.

PerryW
03-01-2012, 11:28 PM
ditto on the milk analogy.

RC Maple
03-02-2012, 06:42 AM
I forgot to mention after reading similar posts on here I try to have all my sap boiled within a week. There have seen stories on here of people who have a sorry tastin' batch after boiling for hours with 10 day old sap. Trying to learn from their experience. It is supposed to be 63 here today - just added another frozen milk jug ice cube to each sap storage container. A lot of boiling to do.

cavescott
03-02-2012, 07:32 AM