PDA

View Full Version : has anyone ever tapped a oak by mistake ?

cavescott
02-28-2012, 07:31 PM
Its my first year I thought I new one tree from the next. Actually took a forestry course about 27 years ago. I have came across several trees that look like maple to me, but they have red in parts of the bark never really noticed this before and there are no leaves. Sort of has me confused any coments or suggestions.

Russell Lampron
02-28-2012, 07:41 PM
Post some pics of the trees in question. Someone will be able to help you then.

adk1
02-28-2012, 07:53 PM
nope, havent done that but there are several nice oaks I star at wishing their were maples!

cavescott
02-28-2012, 08:04 PM
i have tapped a couple trees that i now question. i look back at them and say are they maple. i was sure they were when i tapped them

GramaCindy
02-28-2012, 08:21 PM
Its my first year I thought I new one tree from the next. Actually took a forestry course about 27 years ago. I have came across several trees that look like maple to me, but they have red in parts of the bark never really noticed this before and there are no leaves. Sort of has me confused any coments or suggestions.

I swear to you cavescott, I had an almost indentical post just last year, my first!

jmayerl
02-28-2012, 09:58 PM
I always look up after last year. I was on a roll and drilled two white oaks. Funny thing is that someone built a nice new sugar shack near town and I stopped by to say hi on Monday. No one was around but they had about 50 trees tapped, half oak and half maple. Best part was all the trees were marked with ground utilities flags.

cavescott
02-28-2012, 10:15 PM
how do you tell by looking up. what is the difference between a maple and a oak up there

Yeserday
02-29-2012, 01:54 AM
how do you tell by looking up. what is the difference between a maple and a oak up there

Maples as well as Ash, Dogwood and Horsechestnut are the only trees i know that have opposite branching. Oaks have alternate branching.