PDA

View Full Version : cleaning tubing

CTsugarMan
02-26-2012, 03:14 PM
Currently I'm on buckets, next year I wanta go to tubbing if it is worth it, what would be the minimum for taps, and how do you clean the tubing, before or after you take it down at the end of the season?

Thanks alot

spencer11
02-26-2012, 03:57 PM
well typically you would leave tubing up all year long and never take it down..but you can if you need/want to. this is my first year with tubing and i dont think im gonna clean it. just drain it. you can clean it and there was a thread started recentally about it.

spencer

PerryW
02-27-2012, 07:46 AM
I use a 3 gallon backpack sprayer filled with water. Just poll each tap and give it a good squirt. Hot water works better, though I don't have that luxury. Some people also use a 5% chlorox solution first, then rinse, but you have to make sure and get all the chlorox out.

Burnt sap
03-06-2012, 09:11 AM
The big outfits here use the tubing for just a few seasons then replace it. When you have 20-50 thousand taps you don't spend time cleaning taps or drops you just replace it. I guess it's up to you and how much time you have.

Vermonner
03-22-2012, 07:53 AM
I use a 3 gallon backpack sprayer filled with water. Just poll each tap and give it a good squirt. Hot water works better, though I don't have that luxury. Some people also use a 5% chlorox solution first, then rinse, but you have to make sure and get all the chlorox out.
The crew I worked on this year, 17,000 taps, pulls their taps under vacuum and plugs the taps, no cleaning. I asked them the same ? and the advice I was given about 5% Clorox (or any bleach) is that chemically it's active component is sodium hypochlorite, NaOCl, which despite anyone's best effort to get it all out of the tubing some will remain. It will denature in part to sodium, which is a squirrel MAGNET. And if you don't absolutely hate squirrels now, just wait til you hang tubing.....