PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Somerset County, PA

MikeL
02-26-2012, 04:55 AM
I see our old thread is outdate and closed so we may as well have a new one. We are making nearly as much syrup as the previous year. Made some lite for the first time on that old evaporator. Got flooded out twice, time to add a membrane. Made some darker last week at the end, but Im not complaing , I will take all the dark and GD b that tastes good that I can get. Went to the official tree tapping yest in Somerset county, I guess we are officially started. Saw a lot of producers discussed a lot of things. Give me some feed back someday , we need a field day someday on using some of the gadgets we have better. Seems its always heresay and self taught. Maybe I could get someone in for that. Kyle's place was great! Wish it were mine and his was bigger.

pamaple
02-26-2012, 05:16 AM
I wanted to go to that but was too busy. No RO and low sugar content means I spend a lot of time fixing the fire lol. I at least got all caught up so today I can wash everything and be ready to boil again tonight. The forecast for this week doesn't look so good 3 days near 50 without a freeze.

PATheron
02-26-2012, 05:48 AM
pamaple- How would you guys describe your season so far? Is your sugar much lower than normal? Weve had a lot of small runs here, off and on type of stuff with ok to lower sugar. Theron

pamaple
02-26-2012, 06:01 AM
I seem to be getting a lot of sap for only having 1,000 taps out but the sugar content is barely over 1%. It's hard to tell with the float style tester I have. Seems like I have to boil forever to get syrup and it's pretty dark. I hit 50 gal of syrup last night and I have only been tapped a little over a week.

PATheron
02-26-2012, 06:10 AM
Pa- Thats kind of how it is here. We get a lot of sap for the time of year but you process quite a bit of it to get your syrup. Theron

Etown Maple Syrup
02-26-2012, 06:04 PM