PDA

View Full Version : Hows the flow???

dracmaple
02-25-2012, 07:19 PM
Hi guys,

This is my 3rd year sugaring and this year I upgraded to some lines and have a new thor evaporator. I'm not really getting much in the way of sap flow. I've had a couple good days in the last 2 weeks or so and have processed about 50-60 gallons of sap on 60 taps. Is everyone else experiencing the same thing with not a lot of sap flow? Do you think the season is going to make it into march or will the buds prevail before then? I would like to hear your thoughts on this year. Thanks

bunkerchump
02-25-2012, 08:35 PM
I'm a rookie this year, so I wont give much advice, just observation. There is no sap flow on my ~15 or so taps since Wednesday. Here in Seymour, temps have been warm during the day and are not getting below freezing at night. Even my steady producers are as dry as a bone. I took the liberty to pull off the sap bags/buckets, clean them, dry them, and waiting till tomorrow morning as tonight might be our first good freeze. Temps tomorrow in the 40s so I'm hoping the Sap will run a bit. Boiling tomorrow and right now I only have about 13 gallons (collected Tuesday and Wednesday). I'd like to get 15-gallon run by the time I'm done. I pulled the taps from my 2 reds, as they were budding heavily. The sugars seem to be holding up so far. I'm on my second week as well and got only 27 gallons so far from my 15 taps. I wish I tapped a bit earlier, but my homemade evaporator wasnt ready. Hopefully the next 2 weeks are better, but doesnt look too promising based on the weather forecasts.

Mike Van
02-26-2012, 05:04 AM
Good sap flow here in Kent - I just hit 800/gal sap so far yesterday, from my less than 100 taps. This time last year, I was at 80 from the same trees.

merryall
02-26-2012, 05:32 AM
Buckets dry yesterday. Except for that we've had very good flows for the last week.

killingworthmaple
02-26-2012, 05:43 AM