PDA

View Full Version : taps in last weekend; wont' be back until Mar 8...problem?

NorthRiversapguy
02-24-2012, 02:20 PM
I'm a newbie, 1st year. I put ~ 100 taps in President's day weekend with buckets at our second home in Southern Vermont.
Had to leave Tuesday and won't be able to get back up until Mar 8. I left the taps in, but took the buckets off. I'm hoping that the sap will still be flowing when I get back.

Is there anything wrong with leaving the taps in this long (and letting the sap just drip to the ground? Am I better off drilling new holes when I get back up there in 2 weeks?

Thoughts??

Thanks!

Leader 2 X 6 wood burner

StayinLowTech
02-24-2012, 03:57 PM
No you will not have to retap - its just a shame to waste it.

Jeff E
02-24-2012, 04:11 PM
The taps will be OK.
The tap holes will begin to heal, so the sap flow will slow as time goes by. Typically, about 5-7 weeks after they are drilled out.
Next time leave the buckets in place. It they fill up and over flow, at least you have the full buckets!
Worst case is you are gone a long time and it is warm, and the sap goes bad. Then you have to dump out the sap and clean up the buckets.

GeneralStark
02-24-2012, 04:56 PM
The taps will be OK.
The tap holes will begin to heal, so the sap flow will slow as time goes by. Typically, about 5-7 weeks after they are drilled out.
Next time leave the buckets in place. It they fill up and over flow, at least you have the full buckets!
Worst case is you are gone a long time and it is warm, and the sap goes bad. Then you have to dump out the sap and clean up the buckets.

Depending upon the type of bucket, worst case is they fill, freeze and then the bucket splits and is ruined.

PerryW
02-24-2012, 05:18 PM
Depending upon the type of bucket, worst case is they fill, freeze and then the bucket splits and is ruined.

I agree. Sunday's predicted weather would be enough to freeze the buckets solid.

Old County Road
02-24-2012, 05:31 PM
Hi North River,