PDA

View Full Version : Gravity Weather Cons?

Mapledawg
02-24-2012, 07:07 AM
I'm a 2nd year rookie and went all in this year. (new sugar house, 2x6 lapierre Jr, gravity tubing). Been out straight since Aug and just finished building/setup. My R&D year, if you will. I haven't tapped yet (100) as I've been a little cautious about the weather. Someone please correct me if I am wrong on my this. 1. Yeah the weather has been great (40's) with cool nights, but it is still winter and colder weather coming this weekend (teens-20's). 2. Most next week low to mid thirties. My question is, with this upcoming weather, if I had tapped and sap stopped running for say 4 days (weather forecast), in a gravity system, it seems the residual sap in the lines, is prone to go bad and cause bacteria? That said, is it wise that I wait until consistent warm weather (keeps lines flowing) or just jump right in and tap? I can see with vacuum, the residual sap is sucked out and they do not run into this problem? (It may not even be a problem). Any comment is much appreciated. I may be overthinking here....

PerryW
02-24-2012, 07:16 AM
Unless you are using vacuum with new plastic (or checkvalve spouts) your tapholes are good for 6 weeks or so, so the main disadvantage of tapping too early (for us gravity guys) is missing the end of the season.

You are correct that having sap in the lines for 4 or more days does reduce the grade, but not too much if the lines are frozen as bacterial action is reduced under freezing conditions. Also, I doubt vacuum actually sucks ALL the sap out of the lines.

TunbridgeDave
02-24-2012, 07:25 AM