PDA

View Full Version : homemade

PF
03-18-2006, 07:59 PM
I'm fairly new to sugarin'. I have a rectangular three burner propane outdoor stove. The burners are 50,000 BTU each. Stove dimensions are 14"WX42"L. I was thinking of buying a flat pan slightly larger than the stove and then surrounding it with concrete blocks to try and keep the heat from escaping. Does this sound like a plan? What evaporation rate do you think I will get? Would a flue pan work with this kind of a set up? Any advice would help.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
03-18-2006, 08:13 PM
Raised flue pan would work ok if you could find one. The only issue with the blocks is that you need a little oxygen, so don't make it completely airtight. If you could pick up an 18" x 4' pan, you would be in good shape and could probably boil off 5 to 8 gph but beware that they eat propane. I have a 2 burner just like that and they love propane. :D

PF
03-18-2006, 08:34 PM
Boy does it love propane. Right now I'm using three stock pots so I'm looking to boil more efficiently with a large pan. Also, I haven't found the need to run the burners wide open and have been getting about five hours from a 20lb tank. Next year I will try to cut a deal with a local hardware store and prepay several tanks at a time. Thanks for the raised flue idea. Does stainless steel get a better evaporation rate than english tin?

brookledge
03-18-2006, 08:40 PM
PF
I think you will find that stainless and tin would boil at the same rate. The benifit for stainless is on the ability to keep it clean with out ever getting the rust.
Also you might want to look into getting a larger propane tank. 30 lb or 100lb. If you can call local propane dealer and see if they would give you a better price by putting in a 100 gallon tank
Keith

maple flats
03-19-2006, 08:26 PM