PDA

View Full Version : First year useing a evaporator, vac pump,and releaser!!

mrnorthshore
02-19-2012, 09:44 PM
Hi everyone, This is my first year with a new to me 2.5x10 evaporator (wood fired, raised flue, reverse flow,copper preheater,steam hood,marchland draw off). Before this i have only used small buffet pans 7 total on a home made block arch( with about 50-75 taps all buckets) This year we have 800 total taps and on vac with a new tubing set up from leader ( wet dry) my vac is a older masport w/oil reclaimer. This is my first year going a little bigger with this and its all new to me!!! So ANY and ALL advice I would love to hear it. Thanks

Brent
02-20-2012, 08:24 AM
In ten words or less.

get the North American Maple Syrup Producers Manual

You're going to need it.

You'll likely get new insights into the expression " chinese fire drill "
Most of us go through that.

That's one HUGE amount of expansion and learning curve to take on in one season.

mrnorthshore
02-20-2012, 07:03 PM
thanks Brent, I have the second edition of the book and have read it more then once, great book!! The bigest thing I am looking for tips on is running the evaporator, these things look so complicated. I have never heard that before "chinese fire drill" might have to google that one!

Brent
02-20-2012, 08:13 PM
Chinese fire drill - in maple terms
- the sparks coming out of the stack set the local bush on fire
- your pre-filter plugs while your getting a huge foam up and you need to draw some off quickly
- simultaneously you run out of raw sap, just after you threw a load of firewood in
- the power fails and you're in the dark
- you kick over your emergency bucket of sap in the dark
etc etc

All that you're taking on in one year is the step by step equivalent of about 3 years of normal expansion. I hope you don't have blood pressure issues.
Good luck, I hope it's better for you than I think it could be.

mrnorthshore
02-20-2012, 09:04 PM