PDA

View Full Version : I Finally Did It

Randav
02-19-2012, 08:39 PM
This is my first attempt at sugaring and it turned out great. I started with 35 gallons of sap and 3 hours later, I had 1.5 gallons of almost syrup. I will finish it off tomorrow night on the turkey fryer. I want to send a big thank you to WCPROCTOR, from Uxbridge, for all his knowledge, advice, and support.:cool: I can't wait till next weekend!

Maplesedge
02-20-2012, 03:07 PM
Wow, nice set up! What's the blue barrel, spark arrester? And is that a blower piped into the arch door? Are you ladling pan to pan, or is it all one batch?

Your off to a great start. Happy mapling?

Randav
02-20-2012, 07:02 PM
Maplesedge, you are exactly right, a spark arrester, my compost and brush pile are directly behind the arch and I don't want the fire department around for free samples! And yes, I'm using a 50 CFM bathroom exhaust fan for a blower. I started out lifting and dumping the back pan forward, but that lasted for two cycles, the fire was just too hot, so I was ladling forward after that. I was concerned that the finished product would be too dark, but It finished at a medium amber.

Maplesedge
02-20-2012, 09:02 PM
That's great. I've never been able to make dark syrup, but the I always pull my taps by the end of March. Maybe if I went into April when they bud out? I think it's more the sap than how you cook it.

Randav
02-28-2012, 08:11 PM