PDA

View Full Version : Need help operating my evaporator pan

FordHeritageFarm
02-18-2012, 08:25 PM
This is my first year with an evaporator pan with 4 "channels". How do I draw off the last of the syrup without scorching pan on heat? Feeling dumb, but I need to ask.

MapleME
02-18-2012, 09:13 PM
You need to leave enough syrup
in the pan until it cools off. Once the pan is cool, pull it all of and finish however you plan on it. If you pull it off hot, you will burn and ruin your pans.

FordHeritageFarm
02-18-2012, 10:38 PM
What if I have about 300 gallons of sap. Shouldn't I be able to draw off eventually while the pan is drip feeding on the other side?

sapbrush
02-18-2012, 10:49 PM
yes that is what i do i boil and boil and boil till i know i have syrup in the pan you can tell by the color set a thrmometer near the side you will draw off on when it reaches 218 degress start drawing off syrup, when it drops below 218 shut the valve and keep boiling till it reads 218 again then draw off more and so on. hope this helps jim

Flat47
02-19-2012, 06:17 AM
What if I have about 300 gallons of sap. Shouldn't I be able to draw off eventually while the pan is drip feeding on the other side?

Let's back up a bit. If I read you right, you've got a flat pan, with dividers, and a drawoff valve in one corner - right?

If so, constantly adding fresh sap to the side opposite the drawoff will eventually create a sugar gradiant in the pan, just like you asked in the quote above. You will then have fresh sap at your inlet, and (after hours of boiling) syrup at your drawoff. At this point, continue adding fresh sap and drawoff the syrup at the same time (watch to keep the sap depth adequate in the pan). Watch a thermometer as you drawoff. When the temp drops a couple (2 or 3) degrees, stop drawing off. Repeat the process.

FordHeritageFarm
02-19-2012, 07:37 AM