PDA

View Full Version : Anyone considering tapping this weekend in the Ottawa valley?

Eric in Kinburn
02-18-2012, 01:18 PM
Anyone tapping already in the Ottawa valley? Long term forecast is starting to look about right, but it seems so early.

Eric

jd maple
02-18-2012, 02:06 PM
I was the same thing. To tap or not to tap that is the question. The 14 day forecast does not look warm enough other that the next few days. I wish I had the awnser.

Quabbin Hill Farms
02-18-2012, 03:27 PM
I have been keeping records for 20 years and I have only tapped in february once in 1996 think I will wait until next weekend end of Feb.

nudlebush
02-18-2012, 11:56 PM
I tapped one tree today at first it did not run but 1.5 hr later the bottom of the bucket was covered.

Calling for some warm days this week...last yr we were tapped by Mar 4.

My crystal ball is in the shop right now so I will keep an eye on Maple Trade....keep posting.

Andy

cowboy729
02-19-2012, 06:46 PM
I tapped 25 tree's just to say that I started and with no frost under the snow wanted to make sure I got some good sap. The temps never went above zero today but the tree's still had some sap running with that bright sun. Looks like we might have a couple good days this week and then I'll see when I'll do my other taps.

gregord
02-20-2012, 08:34 AM
I put in 30 Taps and about 25% were dripping slow I'm just south of North Augusta but I think buy next weekend we will be boiling. Here we Go!

DrewCP
02-20-2012, 10:29 AM
No tapping for us. Looks tempting but cannot see any advantage. Only maybe 3 days this week of good running then no good until first week of March. We will throw our 50-75 taps in on March 2-3. Our bush still has 8-12" of snow in most places.

We only need enough syrup for our family and some to give away. 2 150-200gal boils is more than enough for us.

Good luck to everyone and keep us updated.
Drew.

Eric in Kinburn
02-20-2012, 11:48 AM