PDA

View Full Version : First Batch Burnout

btflaw
02-18-2012, 11:22 AM
Although I have been sugaring now for several decades the process can still throw a few curveballs at you. As I mentioned in my Tapped in Sterling post I was having my son's Cub Scout pack coming out to learn about the tapping and the sugaring process. As luck would have it while I was out showing them and allowing them to tap trees when I returned with the Cub Scouts to the evaporator all that was left was blackened solidified foam resembling balck styrofoam and ruin a brand new stainless pan. But hey the kids had fun and thankfully I had some reserve syrup from last year for the kids to try. No good deed goes unpunished I guess.

2 Barrel evaporators(which I call my two maple mistresses)

buckeye gold
02-18-2012, 11:48 AM
I hope by ruined you don't mean throwing it away....they can be cleaned. Some say they have used easy off oven cleaner, some a vinegar soak and or boil. I cleaned a blackeded pan channel with Muriatic acid once.

Maxfields maple
02-18-2012, 02:28 PM
Ive been there and done that,ive learned never leave the evaperater with out someone ther to watch it,strange things can happen quickly.Now for that pan,try boiling some apple cider vinger in it.You might have to let it sit a few days but after it sits ,warm it up just abit so its not to hot but you can take a green scrubby and scrub.If its warped bad you might have to pound it flat or if you can find a black smith they can reheat in certain ares and pull alot of the warp out.If its real bad the hard ware store carry sandpaper disks that go on a drill or a 4" angle grinder..when all done the cider viniger does a nice clean up.good luck

btflaw
02-18-2012, 06:16 PM