PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question-how deep do I make the sap in the pan?

Zachary Hoyt
02-17-2012, 10:48 AM
I am new to an evaporator, I got a 2x4 homemade last fall after boiling in a steam table pan over an open fire. The pan has one divider that makes it about 2/3-1/3. How much sap should I put in the pan to start and how much should I keep in it as I am boiling with a wood fire, no blower? I have read that less than 1.5" of depth is prone to burn, and i assume that I need to leave some room so it doesn't boil over the edges. With a 2 part pan how do I use it, I must start with sap in both pans but then do I ladle concentrated sap from the big pan to the small one or do it in some other way? Any advice will be very much appreciated.
Zach

ennismaple
02-17-2012, 12:40 PM
You're probably OK at 1.5" for your setup because you're not drawings off very much per hour but if that worries you going to 2" won't significantly affect your boiling rate.

Ausable
02-17-2012, 12:57 PM