PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first arch, looking for advice please!

DSKUP
02-15-2012, 01:12 PM
After eight years of concrete, I'm looking to buy a locally-made steel arch from a fab shop. The pans they offer are batch, not continuous flow. I'm thinking about a six foot arch with a 2x4' drop flue pan (6" flues, 10" pan rise) and a 2x2 syrup pan. They also can do a 2x4' arch. I'm just a hobbyist, 100+ taps but also looking to minimize evap time and increase production over time.

So just a few rookie questions:

- I've been told I don't want to go continuous flow with such a low production level (too much expense and continous monitoring of the process). Other opinions?

- Assuming I go batch, does it make sense to have both a flue and syrup pan running in "batch" mode (not continuous flow)?

-If so, assuming I use a pump or other method to get the sap from one pan to the other... how would I transition at the end of the batch to only boiling on the syrup pan without scortching the flue pan? With a concrete arch, I would just swing my pan off to the side when done. This doesn't seem possible with a drop flue pan.

-Would I be better off with the 2x4' arch and flue pan, then using a 2x2 on propane to finish?

Any help explaining how this system would work would be most appreciated!!!

Thanks!

red maples
02-15-2012, 01:29 PM
Alright so if you only have 100+ taps and don't wanna go any bigger then why don't you just make an 18" x 5" foot evap? and make it a continous flow.
I think a flue pan would be a pain to do batch not really sure about that I guess it would work. Would you be boiling on weekends only or a few times during the week? for me I really don't like boiling anything less than 150 gallons which is about <4 hours for me once everything gets hot it really cranks. (thats a 2x6 with a 4' flue pan. )