PDA

View Full Version : How to find sugar content in sap?

Jillian
02-13-2012, 10:53 AM
This is my first year at doing syrup. I read a lot of postings on what people are getting as the "sugar content" in the sap. What does this mean? is there a tool that i need to read this? what do you want the sugar content to be? Thank you in advance for your feed back.

Jillian

2012- 300 buckets
- 63 on gravity
- 2X8 evaporator drop flut

Brian66
02-13-2012, 11:14 AM
Purchase a hydrometer that is specifcally designed for measuring sap. I never gave it much thought until last year when my first run boiled at 80:1 instead of 40:1. In other words, my sugar concentration in the sap was only about 1%. It should be in the range of 2% to 3%, or higher if you ar lucky. I went through a pile of firewood and lots of time. The next runs came in at normal concentrations but I could not find anyone that wanted to buy my first run syrup for $40 a litre. It was the first time I had ever seen that happen, now I'll check the sugar concentration first.

happy thoughts
02-13-2012, 11:19 AM
Some people test the sap straight from the tree to see how sweet it is. It varies from tree to tree, the higher the content the better. Higher sugar = more syrup/volume of sap. Sap hydrometers or refractometers are used to measure it. It's not an absolutely necessary thing to have.

Murphy's Law
02-13-2012, 12:41 PM
Purchase a hydrometer that is specifcally designed for measuring sap. I never gave it much thought until last year when my first run boiled at 80:1 instead of 40:1. In other words, my sugar concentration in the sap was only about 1%. It should be in the range of 2% to 3%, or higher if you ar lucky. I went through a pile of firewood and lots of time. The next runs came in at normal concentrations but I could not find anyone that wanted to buy my first run syrup for $40 a litre. It was the first time I had ever seen that happen, now I'll check the sugar concentration first.