PDA

View Full Version : what's your daily maintenance before startup and when you shut down?

pierre
02-13-2012, 07:14 AM
it's my first year w/vacuum so i could use some tips on what to do as far as what do you do before startup and when you shut down at night .do you check your taps daily or tap them in cause they come loose or what???:)

Brian Ryther
02-13-2012, 07:25 AM
Never turn it off

vtmapleman
02-13-2012, 05:16 PM
I have a liquid cool vacuum system so I make sure that my water supply is ready to go - it is a fifty gallon barrell with 50/50 mix of water and anti-freeze. My pump is setup with a freezer thermostat that starts the pump when the outside temperature gets to 38 degree and shuts down when it drops to 28 degrees. Since my sugarhouse is only 200 feet from my house I check it every morning to be sure it starts properly. There are times when the sap starts to run prior to the pump starting so I just override the thermostat - same holds true when the sap stops flowing before the vacuum shuts off. I am not one to leave the vacuum on if the sap is not flowing. Also, daily I will check/walk the sugar bush looking for leaks.

pierre
02-13-2012, 05:44 PM
Do the taps come loose or just occasionally?

Russell Lampron
02-13-2012, 05:55 PM

I have more problems with squirrel chews than I do with taps loosening. I find an occasional hollow tree or cracked fitting but those are rare. Before I turn on the vacuum pump I check the oil level and belt tension.

sjdoyon
02-13-2012, 06:04 PM
Walk all the lines each morning under vacuum to identify potential leaks. Make repairs as needed. No issues with the taps, installed Check Valves. Most folks don't bother to walk everyday, as you know, trees/limbs fall all the time and the animals are busy. Spend your time prepping outside the sugarhouse.

pierre
02-14-2012, 06:53 AM
thanks for the replies

Jeff E
02-14-2012, 04:41 PM
One more reply!