PDA

View Full Version : barrel stove, fist time mapling

CTsugarMan
02-12-2012, 04:31 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to the site, and making syrup. As of this weekend I have collected 25 gal, and bolied all weekend, firwt off I'm hooked. I'm boiling on a converted coal stove that I made burn wood, it work but it takes 6 hrs to boil down 5 gal. I wanta increase production, so I'm thinking of making abarrel stove. Can anyone give me the pointers and any insight to doing this. I have a large tarped tent in the wood that I use as a shack. I think it is safe for doing ig in. What I'm looking for is the best way to insert my pan, it just a flat pan that you would use in catering.

Thanks to all that reply
Ctsugarman

Kngowods
02-12-2012, 04:47 PM
Here's a pic of mine I just made this is my first year also. Lots of fun

CTsugarMan
02-12-2012, 04:56 PM
cool, it is alot of fun.... what size pans do you have there, and is the barrel 55gal? how had it worked for you so far

Tom59
02-12-2012, 07:14 PM
Sugarman, welcome to the madness. My 2nd year sugarin, 1st year with my homemade barrel evaporator. :lol: They are not too hard to make. Only tools I used were drill, sawsall, tin snips, rivet gun and hammer and vise to bend up sheet metal. Only done a test run so far with water, was very satisfied with it. I cut the barrel so the pan sits down inside. Then made some baffles to keep heat in & ash out of the pan. I used a barrel stove kit I got from Tractor Supply. It includes a door with draft control, legs & a stack mount with a damper, plus hardware. Here are some pics. Good luck. Feel free to pm with any questions, be glad to help. Also you came to the right place, TONS of info here. I learned so much in just a short time, great site & people! :lol: Tom

5360 5362

Ausable
02-12-2012, 07:34 PM