PDA

View Full Version : how deep should i run my pan

blue182
02-09-2012, 07:36 AM
I just got a new wood fired 2' by 6' whith drop flues. How much sap should i run in the pan.

Ausable
02-09-2012, 11:45 AM
Howdy Blue - You will hear different answers - In my flat pans continuous flow I run between 1 1/2" and 2" - However I don't have a float control box. Here is one of the problems with answering Your question - We don't know what You know? Have You ever fired on any kind of continuous flow evaporator before? I used batch pans for years and a continuous flow is a different beast - but - fun and a lot quicker. Someone with a drop flue rig will come on and give you the information you need - best I can do is a Ball Park -- best of luck and have fun with your new rig.

adk1
02-09-2012, 11:51 AM
I ahve the same setup/ 2x6 drop flue. THis is my first year so I cant tell your from experience, but I will tell you that I plan on running at 1" sap depth.

RileySugarbush
02-09-2012, 12:31 PM
The standard answer is "it depends". Some run as low as 3/4". On my 2x6 I run between 1 and 1.25", but as I have added better combustion it is getting a little hairy. The ports out of, into and between pans were all 1/2" and the flow was restricted to the point that sometimes I came very to near burnt pans. This year I am changing all ports and valves to 1". My feed line and preheat piping will be upped to 3/4".

Even with those changes I think I will stay above 1.5". Some say that running shallower increase evaporation rate, but I am not sure I agree. Running deeper will have the potential to make a bit darker grade of syrup, but I am fine with that and prefer darker anyway.

Russell Lampron
02-09-2012, 07:29 PM
If you have never boiled with a real evaporator it is best to start at 1.5" to 2" in the front pan until you get used to it. After you have run it for a while you can run it shallower but you shouldn't go less than 1".

lakeview maple
02-09-2012, 11:03 PM