PDA

View Full Version : First time tapping

Noah's Ark
02-06-2012, 10:52 AM
Well, i had the day off of work and the girls (15 and 13) and I just tapped 10 trees today, our first attempt at maple syrup making. We will boil it down on an outside fire place with a couple SS hotel pans this year and see how things go. If all goes well we will build a homemade evaporator and maybe a small shack and increase to about 30 taps. I have read quite a bit over the last couple of years getting ready for this. Since this seems to be a very strange year for weather I have a question for any in the area (southern Litchfield county). If it turns cold and the trees quit running will I have to retap or will the same taps run again. I am prepared to just see what happens but since this is my first time I look forward to any suggestions and ideas.

happy thoughts
02-06-2012, 11:01 AM
Welcome to the forum Noah:). You won't need to retap. They will run again. Some days you may get lots and others nothing. Just make sure you can keep the sap cold between runs if you don't have enough for batch boiiling.

Have fun and keep us posted!

valleyman
02-06-2012, 12:26 PM
Welcome Noahs Arc.

I'm south of you down Rt8. I'm a backyarder too. Happy Thoughts is giving you good advise. Keep the sap cold as possible. I found the coldest spot in my yard and I pile snow there and put my sap barrel(s) there. I put a big insulated blanket over my barrel and it works out fine until the tail end of the season. Later in the season I Fill and Freeze 1/2 gal milk jugs with sap and drop in the barrel.

CTfarm
02-06-2012, 12:57 PM
Good Luck Noah's Ark. Just put out 16 buckets this morning here in Durham, CT. All are running, some more than others. Hope to boil on my new Mason Hobby arch weds. First year for me too!

Noah's Ark
02-09-2012, 09:02 AM