PDA

View Full Version : Tapped in Hopkinton

SeanD
02-05-2012, 07:16 PM
Got 28 taps on gravity tubing in today. It's my first time using tubing. Next to watching water boil, watching it travel down a little blue tube is pretty exciting. I also got 37 buckets up before it got too close to game time. I hope to get the last buckets up this week to get to 90 or 95 taps this year.

Many thanks to the Saps in Bellingham. The last-minute tubing lesson revolutionized how I went about it!

Let's hope for a good (however early) season!

Sean

remkel
02-05-2012, 09:55 PM
It was great having you in Bellingham and we all appreciate the help you gave us. The more the merrier. Glad to hear your lines and buckets are up. I am going to have to stop in on my way to Bellingham one day. take care and happy boiling.

Sap 3

SeanD
02-06-2012, 06:31 PM
Only averaged about a 1/2 gallon per tap today. Some put out close to a gallon. Others are still waking up. Thought it would be bigger, but hey, it's sap. Didn't test sugar, but it tasted sweet. I'll check it tomorrow.

Looks like the temps are set up for a decent run over the next few days and then it looks like an extended, big chill moves in. Trying to scramble after work to get more taps in this week. Not sure if I have enough buckets. We'll see how it goes. If not, I'll definitely be ready for the next warm up. Hopefully, I'll have enough to light the evap. this weekend.

Sean

wcproctor
02-06-2012, 07:19 PM
Ha Sean good the here you in. I got just about all my taps in and in finished 2 gallons today. And made some candy for the kids and some maple coated walnuts for my mother, so good. I you are looking for some 4 gal buckets I have about 20+ left over. Give me a call if you need some.
Eli

SeanD
02-06-2012, 10:31 PM
That's awesome. Two gallons already!

I think I'll take you up on your offer. Ten should do me. I'll give you a call tomorrow.

Thanks!

Sean

SeanD
02-11-2012, 11:57 AM