PDA

View Full Version : help with flow

mcsap
03-11-2006, 08:46 PM
This is my first year using a pan with partitions (second year overall). How do I establish and keep a flow going from back to front? Today was the first boil and it seemed like I always had the 2 middle partitions with the hottest boil (out of 5) and front always seemed to slack off. Was my fire simply not hot enough?

Also, with a 5 section pan like this (2.5 x 4 feet), should I be able to draw syrup from the front, or near syrup, or should I finish on a separate burner? That's what I did tonight, time for bed now :?

Thanks,
John

ibby458
03-12-2006, 06:02 AM
We used a 2 1/2 x 5 partitioned flat pan up until this year. If you keep adding your fresh sap on one side at the biggining of the channel, your syrup will come off the opposite side. Everytime. (If your partitions run lengthwise. If they're sideways, adjust these suggestions accordingly)

Is your arch bricked? How is it made? WE had that problem the first year. THe fire would roar up the center, making the middle channels boil like crazy, with few bubbles in the side channels. THere's 2 things that may help. Keep pushing your fire to the sides of the arch, and fire in the center with your fresh wood.

My arch had a section in the back that "collected" the fire/smoke, and funneled it to the stck. Instead, the fire just roared up the center and out the pipe. I found a rock just big enough to fit under the pan that blocked off a good portion of the middle of the smoke path, forcing it to go around to the sides before getting out. I was using forced draft, but if you don't, be careful you don't block off TOO much draft. We used stove door gasket rope as a seal between pan and arch. Ceramic blanket strips are even better, and help a lot in keeping the sides boiling.