PDA

View Full Version : bb2 surge pump

pierre
02-03-2012, 07:45 PM
whats the stats on this kind of pump how many taps will it handle and what kind of pressure will it do

Paddymountain
02-03-2012, 07:47 PM
I think Redmaples has around 250 taps on a BB2,I'm planning on about a 100 taps with one.

pierre
02-03-2012, 09:05 PM
i have 400 taps and i was looking at buying this bb2 pump as a back up it runs has a motor dont know what size but it looks like the original motor sits on a tank w/ oil but i was wondering whats it worth what should it pull in vacuum

Bucket Head
02-03-2012, 11:17 PM
Is a BB2 rated for half the performance of a BB4, like the SP11 is half of the SP22? If so, a BB4 is rated at 29cfm with a 2.5h.p. motor on it, according to some Surge literature I've read. The BB4 is actually larger than the SP22. So the BB2 may be bigger than the SP11. The SP11 is rated at 10cfm with a .85 h.p. motor. I'm no vacuum expert, but the general reccomendation is one cubic foot per minute per 100 taps, I believe. Hopefully this info will help you make a determination on the pump your looking at.

Steve

markcasper
02-04-2012, 02:57 PM
sp11 is 5.5 cfm american. "11" was a new zealond thing and that is right from the dealer. same thing with the 22, in reality it has 11 cfm. My dad says the bb4 was bigger than the sp22 as well, my guess in reality it had 14.5 cfm if you are saying 29, which would again be the new zealand number. The bb2 is similar to the sp11, but don't hve the eaxact specs.
There is alamo 100 in the barn for milking, it really hafve 50 cfm, basically everythinh surge did rated at i/2.

Bucket Head
02-04-2012, 05:58 PM