PDA

View Full Version : Turkey Fryer Questions

Troutman10
02-03-2012, 05:32 PM
I think that I'll be sticking with the Turkey Fryer for at least another year despite me wanting to put up a block arch for 2012. I have excuses including the weird weather. Not sure on the exact # of taps I'll have either. Thinking about having 10 or so. Gotta buy some more supplies in the next couple weeks. I'm still learning and taking it slow since last year. Now to my question, common sense tells me that I should have a better evap rate with a hotel pan on the turkey fryer. Is this true? Does/Has anyone else done it this way? Last year I used my turkey fryer pot, but was left looking for a faster process. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

spencer11
02-03-2012, 05:43 PM
you should get a better gph with a steam pan. i use them on my oil tank evaporator. if on a turkey cooker run it shallow, about 1-2 inches of sap. make sure to pre-heat the sap for the best gph rate. i use to use a pot and it dosent do very well. i did a block arch last year and i made alot more money because of what i save on propane.

spencer

Redmaple
02-03-2012, 05:46 PM
Boil in the new pans and finish in the turkey cooker this will speed up your cook time.

eustis22
02-03-2012, 06:39 PM
Trout, that's what I used last year, ss steam pan, full size but 4 inches deep on a turkey fryer...best I could do was 1 gph...I walled it in with plywood to cut the wind, and I couldn't get a roiling boil. I spent $80 on propane, ended up with 1 gallon of syrup out of maybe 100 gallons drawn (there might have been some spillage...lmao) and I destroyed a turkey roaster by not paying attention. Did I mention I also blew up my coleman stove :)? if you go this way, drop some $$ on cinder blocks and keep the space tight to keep the heat IN. Wind is killer. Cold isn't much better. Good luck. if nothing else, you'll be incentivized enough to get that arch up.

Cake O' Maple
02-03-2012, 08:12 PM