PDA

View Full Version : Slope problems

royalmaple
03-11-2006, 08:05 PM
I am new to setting up main lines etc and for 1 I think it may be overkill in my situation but due to distances between trees or groups of trees I have opted to run a 3/4 main line and latterals off that. In one area for example I have say 50 taps main line is about 250-300 feet long, and most taps are at the high side of the main line.

At start I am dumping into a trash can so say final height of line is 3 feet off ground, and I would say that is particular layout does have some natural slope and I have the other high end at about 4 1/2 feet off the ground. But my trees are in pretty level areas off the main line, so in order to end up higher than the main so they flow somewhat into the main my latterals are 6 feet off the ground at say 100- 150 feet out.

Do others have the same problem and what do you do when you need extension ladders just to tap the trees to get slope? Switch to buckets.

Honestly for my application and talking to others (thanks brandon) I think it is best to run mostly 5/16 line in smaller groups and do away with the main line. Just seems too cumbersome and does not seem to fit my application. Or I am just out to lunch and need some light shed on the subject.

Also if you are setting up on a level piece of land, lets say. Do you just eye up the slope in the latteral lines and if they "look" to be sloped is that good enough?

I appreciate the input. Big learning curve. I'll need to keep a close eye to any posts about seminars etc and do some traveling and scoping out other operations.

mountainvan
03-11-2006, 08:55 PM