PDA

View Full Version : Too Early to Tap?

SugarMama
01-31-2012, 08:17 AM
Inpatient newbie here! We are in southern Wisconsin and they are calling for temps in upper 40's all week. Last year started tapping 3rd week in Feb. Almost no snow or frost in the ground here. Still too early to tap?

Rhino
01-31-2012, 05:54 PM
I hate to put my foot in my mouth but i would say it's to early even for you in southern Wis. BUT..... If you are only doing a small amount of taps AND you have enough trees that you could always retap those later on....I would try to make some February syrup, crazy weather. I did put a test tap/bag out today where we are logging, I picked a very large crowned tree in a warm area of the woods where we didnt work that we may of drove frost down to the roots, When we left it was still dry but the sun first came out after 3pm up here and then it got to the 40's. Will watch it all this week and see.

C.Wilcox
01-31-2012, 08:41 PM
SugarMama- not sure where you're at, but I'm in SE WI and I usually tap the first weekend in March. My neighbors tap the last weekend in February, but I think that's mostly because they have a number of taps to get in and they have to walk in to all of them. This is a strange year no doubt, but I think the season will still be about the same time. I say hold steady for the time being....

MapleMounder
02-01-2012, 06:34 AM
SugarMama, Not sure where you are but we are South of the border West of Rockford. We usually tap around Valentine's day but with the weather forecast like it is I put one test tap in yesterday. The shavings where wet when they came off the drill. In about 4 hours I had over a quart of sap, I tested it and it is at 2% so we decided we are going to start tapping the rest tonight. I know one producers just south on Monroe and I talked to him Saturday and he was thinking another week or so for him.

cjmiller272
02-01-2012, 10:40 AM