PDA

View Full Version : Steam pan depth

Tom59
01-27-2012, 11:55 AM
Hi all, I am building a barrel evaporator out of a 55 gallon drum. Got the stove kit at Tractor Supply. I plan on using steam trays fror a pan.The tray will be set into the barrel. My question is what depth pan should I use. I already have a 4 inch deep pan, holds 3 gallons. Am thinking of buying a 6 inch pan that will hold 5 gallons. What pan would give me the best effeciency. I am new to this. Last year was my 1st time doing this. Had 8 taps and boiled on a propane fryer base with a large ss pot. This is strictly a hobby, for personal use & friends. Am hoping to make 3 to 5 gallons this year. Not looking to sell any. Any and all info is greatly appreciated Also any input on the evaporater is welcome also. Thanks Tom

emo
01-27-2012, 12:22 PM
The 4 inch pan should be ok, I think most people on here I have seen use either 4 or 6 inch pans. The 6 inch pans give you a little more room if the sap really gets boiling. I use 3 - 6in deep pans set down in a block arch. Most of the users keep about 1-1/2 to 2 inches of sap in the pans; it does not take as much heat/fire to get the sap boiling. I use an 8oz ladle to transfer between pans and try to keep the sap above the top of the ladle. Good luck! Eric

spencer11
01-27-2012, 12:35 PM
i am using 4 inch deep pans in my oil tank arch. put the pans down in the fire so the sides will be heated and run them deep. if you have 4 inch deep pan run the sap at about 3 inchs deep. you will get a better gph because of more surface area of the sides being heated in addition to the bottom. some sugar will burn on the side but it dosent affect the tast at all.(did this last year and people liked my syrup more).

spencer

TimJ
01-27-2012, 01:35 PM
Get the biggest pan you can that will fit on your arch. To increase your efficiency you should look at insulation and preheating.