PDA

View Full Version : Discouraged

Kngowods
01-27-2012, 11:11 AM
So this is my first year and I have access to endless amounts of maple trees silver and reds mostly. So 2 weeks ago we decided to tap 25 and we have gotten about 20 gal of sap at 1.8-2.6 why so little we have boiled what we got but it's hardly worth it!! is it to early still? What's goin on?

spud
01-27-2012, 11:53 AM
I can only assume you are using buckets or bags. You are at the early point of your season so hang in there. You should get 10 gallons of sap per tap and maybe a lot more. Your sugar content will go up most likely in time. You might make 8-10 gallons of syrup this season.

Spud

red maples
01-27-2012, 12:32 PM
Well I would say 8-10 gals is alot to expect out of 25 taps on buckets especially out out of reds and silvers. your sugar might go up a little but it is still early in the season so don't worry is only still january!!! I would think depending on the weather length of season etc. you can expect about 2-3 gallons or aprox. somewhere a little less than a quart per tap or maybe a little over a pint per tap. and don't get discouraged its a lot of work just have fun with it. and remember approx 40 gallons of sap at 3% will give you a gallon of syrup. Test the sugar when you get all the sap together then it will give you a better estimate at how much you will make pending you get the density of the finished syrup correct!!!

emo
01-27-2012, 12:37 PM