PDA

View Full Version : Door advice for a 2x4, possibly homemade

Zachary Hoyt
01-26-2012, 03:22 PM
I have been doing a very small amount of syrup since 2009 and boiling on a steam table pan over an open fire. This has been okay but rather slow. We've made around 5 gallons both of the last two years. Last fall I attended a local auction and bought the 2x4 setup in the photos for $70. It wasn't advertised as being in the auction so I bought it without having thought a lot about it first. It appears to have been set up to burn gas or oil and I want to convert it to be able to burn wood. I had been thinking of buying a barrel stove door and putting it on after cutting a bigger opening in the end of the arch, but I do not know anything about arches and how they need to be set up to work well. I have lots of wood to burn and I have access to a local welder who makes house calls, so I should be able to get done whatever is needed to make this setup work. If I can get it to work for this season I am planning to build a sugarhouse before next year. I know I need a good tall stack on the pipe end of the arch and I can do that with no trouble, but I am not sure how to proceed with the firebox and door end of things. I am new to this forum, so if there is anything I should do differently when posting please let me know. Any advice will be much appreciated. I can take more photos or get measurements if they would be helpful. I have a photo of the pan but I can only upload 5 pictures at a time.
Zach

vtwoody
01-26-2012, 03:49 PM
nice score!!!! Hopefully, for you, the pan is in decent shape and Stainless....your welder friend should be able to help cut a door opening and fabricate a door pretty easy... its already firebricked so you are well ahead of the game....if pan is good, all you need is the door hole and door....sweet!!!

Ausable
01-26-2012, 04:00 PM