PDA

View Full Version : No maple syrup by 2100?

Starting Small
01-26-2012, 07:31 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzI1SbSpBZc

I came across this on youtube. Any truth to this? I have noticed a lot of people on this forum are saying this year their sugar content is at about 1.6%. Is that because it is so early in the year or because of what this video is saying? I have no clue as I am new to this.

Tithis
01-26-2012, 08:50 AM
I doubt it. The commercial range my change with time, but I doubt it would ever be extreme enough to stop production. During the last ice age we were all under a glacier, and during the warming period Massachusetts was like Virginia.

SDdave
01-26-2012, 08:56 AM
I agree with tithis. But on a side note...way to go to the lady seeking her PhD at 61!

Dill
01-26-2012, 09:08 AM
And during that warming period all of my taps were under the ocean.

Tithis
01-26-2012, 01:01 PM
Exactly. The Sugar maple has been around for a long time and moved up and down the continent with the warming and cooling of the earth and the rise and fall of the oceans, leaving behind pockets that are the ancestors of Florida maples, Canyon maples and the like.

I dislike the comparison to 1970's temperatures though as they were actually low compared to historical averages at the time. I can understand trying to make a point that temperatures have risen, which they have, but picking a point of comparison in an abnormally cold period is distorting the facts.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/29/Global_Cooling_Map.png